Lidl Graduate Scheme 2026/27: £40,000 Salary, Dates and How to Apply
“The amount of support I get is unreal.” — Skye, a Lidl graduate. Lidl gives her first name only, with no surname or job title (Lidl Retail Graduate Management programme page). This is one person’s account, chosen by Lidl for its own recruitment page.
The Lidl graduate scheme is officially the Retail Graduate Management Programme: 23 months of rotations through a store, a warehouse and two regional office teams, paying £40,000 with a company car. Lidl’s early careers page says the nationwide programme “launches on the 27th October” (no year is printed, so we read it as 27 October 2026 and not yet open on 17 October 2026) and that its Head Office graduate programmes are open now. Below are the routes, requirements, stages and preparation. For the closest comparable route, see our Aldi graduate scheme guide, or browse the graduate scheme hub.
Quick facts at a glance
| Detail | What Lidl says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Main programme | Retail Graduate Management Programme, 23 months, rotational | Official |
| Salary | £40,000 | Official |
| Company car | Yes (model and private-use terms not stated) | Official |
| Holiday | 30 days including bank holidays | Official |
| Contract | 23-month fixed term; permanent role not guaranteed | Official |
| Degree | 2:2 or above, any subject | Official |
| Visa sponsorship | None; full-time UK right to work needed | Official |
| Opening | Retail programme 27 October (no year printed); Head Office programmes open now | Official |
| Closing date | None on the pages we could read | Not published |
| Typical start | 1 September | Official |
| Head Office programme pay | Not stated | Not published |
| Aldi comparison figure (£52,020) | Aldi’s recruitment site, checked 17 October 2026 | Official (Aldi) |
Sources: Lidl’s programme page, Graduate FAQs and early careers page. Lidl’s job search runs on a separate system that we did not open, so individual postings and closing dates are unchecked.
When does the Lidl graduate scheme open?
Lidl’s pages give three signals.
- Retail Graduate Management Programme: “also launches on the 27th October”. No closing date is published on the pages we could read.
- Head Office programmes: the Head Office page says “Our 2027 application window is now open” against all five graduate programmes.
- Degree apprenticeship and Head Office placements: “coming soon”.
The Graduate FAQs still say programmes are advertised in January, with only the Head Office Buying programme going live in October, and that the start date is typically 1 September. The Head Office page now shows more than Buying open, so the FAQ is out of date on that point. With no fixed deadline, apply as soon as your route opens; our guide on when to apply for graduate jobs explains why.
Lidl graduate scheme programme structure: rotation by rotation

Year one has four fixed rotations:
- Sales (store, 16 weeks). You start as a Customer Assistant with specialist training, then join the store management team to support daily operations. Lidl calls it “tough work”.
- HR (regional office, 4 weeks). You see how HR runs recruitment, onboarding and development, and learn about employment law and wellbeing policies.
- Logistics (warehouse, 16 weeks). You start as a Warehouse Operative, rotate round the three core warehouse areas, then move into leadership training and run shifts yourself.
- Supply Chain (regional office, 16 weeks). You learn to order products, manage quality and freshness and deal with suppliers. Lidl describes it as fast-moving and target-driven.
Year two is vaguer: Lidl says you spend it “honing your expertise and crafting your management experience”, with no placements named on the page. Rotation timings are specified in each advert.
Hours. Store and warehouse shifts vary, including early mornings and occasional nights: typically 5am to 2pm or 2pm to 11pm. Head Office programmes run on set hours between 8am and 6pm, totalling 40 hours a week.
“Every single day is different, and no two days are the same.” — Simran, Lidl graduate (first name only), on Lidl’s Meet our grads page. One graduate’s view.
Other Lidl graduate routes: Head Office programmes and the degree apprenticeship

Lidl’s Head Office is at Lidl House, Tolworth, supporting “over 1000 Lidl stores”. Five graduate programmes are marked open for 2027:
- Buying Graduate Management Programme: two years, from working in stores to “negotiating products and contracts, all on an international scale”.
- Marketing Graduate Management Programme: two years across Brand & Strategy, Campaigns & media, and Retail Marketing.
- Property: Procurement, Acquisitions, Construction or Facilities.
- Customer Loyalty: Customer Insights and Customer Relationship teams.
- Customer Experience: store layouts, refits and self-checkouts.
Lidl does not state pay, entry grades or rotation lengths for these on the pages we could read (beyond two years for Buying and Marketing), so check each posting. Maddy, a Buying graduate, says she did not expect “how much responsibility you do get from day one” (Meet our grads).
Retail Leadership Degree Apprenticeship. Not a graduate route, but Lidl’s other path into store management. The apprenticeship page describes four years in stores plus study with Kingston University towards a BSc (Hons). Pay starts from £27,040 and could reach £37,333 as a Store Manager, with 10% London weighting (non-contractual) inside the M25. You need GCSE grade 4 in Maths and English and three years’ UK residence. Lidl lists it as coming soon.
Who can apply
Lidl’s programme page lists these requirements, and the dates belong to the 2026 intake:
- A 2:2 or above in any discipline “by September 2026”, graduated no earlier than September 2024. Lidl has not published the dates for the next intake on the pages we could read; applying the same two-year rule is our inference.
- A full UK driving licence “by March 2026”. Expect March of the intake year, but check the advert.
- To live, or be ready to relocate, within commuting distance of your chosen Regional Distribution Centre (RDC).
- Full-time right to work in the UK. There is no visa sponsorship.
- Communication confidence, assertiveness and a positive attitude.
Your degree does not have to match the role. With a 2:2, also see graduate jobs you can still get with a 2:2. Lidl’s 2:2 threshold is lower than Aldi’s 2:1 and 96 UCAS points.
Quick check: stated conditions
Tick what applies to you.
These are the conditions the employer states on its own pages.
Locations: 13 regions
Stores are split across 13 regions, each with an RDC: Eurocentral (Scotland), Newton Aycliffe (North East, Yorkshire, Cumbria), Runcorn (North West, North Wales), Doncaster, Wednesbury (West Midlands), Peterborough (East Anglia), Luton, Bridgend (South Wales), Severn Beach (Avonmouth, Oxfordshire, Wiltshire), Belvedere (South London), Northfleet (East London, Kent), Exeter (South West) and Southampton. Your placement is tied to the RDC you choose. Some towns appear under more than one RDC on Lidl’s list, and which regions recruit each year is not published, so check the advert.
Lidl graduate scheme application process: every stage
Lidl’s FAQ says the process “usually involves four key stages”:

The support page covers all roles, so treat its face-to-face details (30 to 90 minutes, two note-taking interviewers, scripted questions) as a guide rather than the graduate day. If unsuccessful, you can ask for feedback and Lidl asks you to wait 6 months before reapplying for the same role.
How to prepare
Lidl names three question styles: competency (“Give an example of when you delivered excellent customer service”), scenario (“a colleague asks for urgent help. How do you prioritise?”) and skills (“How do you ensure accuracy when handling cash at the till?”). It recommends the STAR technique and says understanding the day-to-day job forms part of the interview, pointing to its “Day in the Life” videos. Be ready to explain why you want to start on the shop floor and how you will handle early starts, occasional nights and relocation.
On AI, Lidl says it is fine for a first draft or practice but that “we can spot an AI-generated response from a mile away”, so write your own answers. For the assessment day, our assessment centre survival guide covers group tasks and nerves. If you need extra time or an interpreter, contact your recruiter directly.
“At Lidl, you’re never bored.” — Jess, Lidl graduate (first name only), on Meet our grads. One person’s view, published by Lidl.
Lidl graduate scheme salary and benefits
Lidl states £40,000, a company car and 30 days’ holiday including bank holidays, and calls it “one of the highest graduate salaries in the market”. It does not give a pay review point, car model or bonus. Use our paycheck calculator for take-home pay.
Lidl’s programme and benefits pages list 10% off in-store shopping, a free 24/7 counselling service, Wellhub gym discounts, the Lidl Discount Hub, a contributory pension (percentages not stated), Cycle to Work savings of up to 42%, voluntary dental and healthcare plans, 52 weeks of maternity or adoption leave with 28 at full pay, hybrid working (three office days) for Head Office and RDC office colleagues, and a sabbatical after five years. It also lists £3.50 an hour extra for night shifts and £2.00 for bank holidays; whether these apply to salaried graduates is not stated.
The catch. The contract is a 23-month fixed term and you are “not guaranteed a permanent role”. You can apply for internal positions as the scheme ends. No retention rate is published.
Lidl vs Aldi, M&S and other retail schemes
Aldi’s Area Manager Programme starts at £52,020 (per Aldi’s recruitment site, checked 17 October 2026; see our Aldi guide) and asks for a 2:1, against Lidl’s £40,000 with a 2:2. Aldi runs a single 12-month store track; Lidl spreads 23 months across Sales, HR, Logistics and Supply Chain. Our Aldi vs Lidl graduate scheme comparison sets them side by side.
Looking at other retailers? M&S runs six separate graduate programmes across stores, food, and fashion, home and beauty, all paying £34,000. Read our M&S graduate scheme guide, then compare it with the Aldi graduate scheme. For consumer goods or tech-led retail routes, see the Unilever and Amazon pages.
Lidl scores 4 out of 5 in our Graduate Scheme Transparency Index, which ranks 29 UK employers on pay, closing dates, stages, grades and intake status.
FAQ
Does Lidl sponsor visas for the graduate scheme?
No. You must be legally entitled to work in the UK on a full-time basis.
Is the Lidl graduate role permanent?
Not automatically. It is a 23-month fixed-term contract; you can apply for internal permanent roles as the scheme ends.
Do I need a driving licence?
Yes. Lidl asked for a full UK licence “by March 2026” for the intake we could read. Expect a March deadline again and check the advert.
Does my degree subject need to match the role?
No. Any discipline is accepted at 2:2 or above.
When does the Lidl graduate scheme start?
Typically 1 September, according to Lidl’s FAQ.
What’s the interview process like?
Usually four stages: online application, online assessment, video interview, then an in-person assessment day.
When do applications open?
Lidl says the Retail Graduate Management Programme launches on 27 October (no year printed) and the Head Office programmes (2027 window) are open now. No closing date is published.
How much does it pay?
£40,000, a company car and 30 days’ holiday on the Retail programme. Head Office pay is not stated.
Do I need a 2:1?
No. Lidl asks for a 2:2 or above in any subject.
Can I apply if I graduated several years ago?
Probably not. The 2026 wording asks for a degree gained no earlier than two years before September; check the next advert.
What hours will I work?
Store and warehouse shifts vary (typically 5am to 2pm or 2pm to 11pm); Head Office runs 40 hours between 8am and 6pm.
Are there Lidl graduate programmes outside retail?
Yes: Buying, Marketing, Property, Customer Loyalty and Customer Experience, all marked open for 2027.
Does Lidl offer a degree apprenticeship?
Yes, a four-year Retail Leadership apprenticeship with Kingston University, from £27,040, listed as coming soon.
Can I use AI in my application?
For drafts and practice, yes, but Lidl says it can spot generic AI answers.
Will I get feedback if rejected?
You can request it from your recruiter after an interview. Wait 6 months before reapplying for the same role.
Next steps
Check the adverts on Lidl’s early careers page from 27 October and prepare your CV and examples now. Browse live windows on the graduate scheme hub, and confirm dates and requirements with Lidl before you submit.