Blog
Automotive & Transport 08.11.26 (Published)

Network Rail vs TfL Graduate Scheme 2027: Pay, Locations and How to Apply

Checked 7 Nov 2026 on the official Network Rail and TfL pages Quick answer: Network Rail and TfL both pay about £32,000 to start (Network Rail £32,000 plus a £2,000 welcome bonus; TfL £32,250), but they are different schemes. Network Rail is UK-wide, with a choice of location and…

Business consultant

Graduate engineer in hi-vis on a railway platform, illustrating Network Rail vs TfL graduate scheme
Checked 7 Nov 2026 on the official Network Rail and TfL pages
Quick answer: Network Rail and TfL both pay about £32,000 to start (Network Rail £32,000 plus a £2,000 welcome bonus; TfL £32,250), but they are different schemes. Network Rail is UK-wide, with a choice of location and mostly engineering and operations roles; TfL is London-only, with up to six rotations. Neither can sponsor a visa. On 7 Nov 2026, Network Rail’s newer scheme pages showed Apply Now buttons, while TfL’s explainer page said September 2027 applications were “opening soon”. Always confirm dates on the employer page.

Network Rail vs TfL graduate scheme: the biggest difference

Where you work. Network Rail’s graduate pages list a different set of locations for each scheme (for example 14 sites for Civil Engineering and Railway Operations Management) and you choose one when you apply (Network Rail FAQ, official). TfL says all its roles are based in London (TfL, official). If you want to live outside London, that decides it. Read our full Network Rail graduate scheme guide and TfL graduate scheme guide for each employer.

Network Rail vs TfL graduate scheme at a glance: pay, location, visas and travel perks

Network Rail vs TfL: side-by-side

ItemNetwork RailTfL
Starting pay£32,000 plus a £2,000 welcome bonus (Civil Engineering, Finance, Railway Operations Management pages; Official)£32,250 for all graduates (Official)
Length2 years (Civil, Finance); 18 months (Railway Operations); other schemes not checkedUp to 6 placement rotations; total length varies by scheme
LocationUK-wide; you choose a siteLondon only
Degree2:2 (Civil: ICE-accredited; Railway Ops: any subject); 2:1 for FinanceVaries: some schemes take a 2:2 in any subject, others have specific criteria
Visa sponsorshipNone; right to work for the full schemeNone currently; right to work for the full scheme
Travel perk75% off a season ticket to work; discounted leisure travel2 free Oyster cards; 75% discount on National Rail
Leave and pensionGenerous leave plus 8 bank holidays (days not stated); choice of 3 pension options30 days’ leave; “generous” pension (rate not stated)
2027 status (7 Nov 2026)Apply Now buttons on newer pages; no closing date publishedExplainer says “opening soon”; the TfL jobs portal showed some 2027-cycle pages (Highways & Traffic, Data Science) dated 14 Oct 2026 as filled

Sources: Network Rail Civil Engineering scheme page, TfL graduate scheme explained. We checked three Network Rail scheme pages only; check the others on the official site.

Which fits you? Quick picker

Application process: Network Rail vs TfL

Network Rail (official FAQ): an application including a short numeracy assessment, an online assessment with a video interview, scheme-specific activities for some schemes, final checks, then a role-tailored assessment centre. Use of AI is allowed in some parts but not for online testing. TfL (official): an online application, two online assessments (strengths-based; some answers recorded on video), then an assessment centre, typically an interview and possibly a presentation or group task (TfL how to apply). TfL allows one application per campaign.

What graduates say

“Have no fear and just go for it.”
Adedayo Akeredolu, Network Rail graduate who joined in 2018, on Network Rail’s own graduate story (one person’s account; source).

We could not verify a current named TfL graduate quote on a page that matches today’s details, so we have not included one.

How to prepare for both

Both processes include online assessments and an assessment centre. Practise with our online tests guide and situational judgement test guide, then see the graduate assessment centre guide, group exercise and presentation exercise pages. Track opening dates in our deadlines calendar. If you will be commuting in London, our DLR guide explains fares and daily caps.

Application checklist

0 of 5 done

Network Rail vs TfL FAQ

Which pays more, Network Rail or TfL?

Starting pay is very close: £32,000 plus a £2,000 welcome bonus at Network Rail (on the three scheme pages we checked) and £32,250 at TfL.

Can international students apply?

Both require the right to work for the full scheme and say they do not offer visa sponsorship. Network Rail says Graduate Visa holders are welcome if the visa covers the full scheme.

Is the Network Rail graduate scheme open for 2027?

On 7 Nov 2026 its newer scheme pages showed Apply Now buttons and no closing date. Network Rail says applications may close at different times depending on volume, so apply early.

Is the TfL graduate scheme open for 2027?

TfL’s explainer page said applications for September 2027 starts were opening soon, and some scheme pages on its jobs portal were marked as filled on 14 Oct 2026. Check TfL’s roles list.

Which has the better assessment centre?

They differ rather than rank: TfL typically uses an interview and possibly a presentation or group task, and Network Rail uses a role-tailored centre. Prepare for both formats.

More schemes are on the graduate scheme hub.

Rate us!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

UK paycheck calculator

Get started

Take four minutes to set up your profile and have great grad jobs come to you.